New energy.
From next door.

New energy.
From next door.

New energy.
From next door.

The H2-VALUE chain
of the Rostock region

With unique location advantages for the production of hydrogen from regionally generated renewable energy sources and diverse projects along the entire value chain, the Rostock region offers manifold opportunities for the development and expansion of a competitive hydrogen economy with a focus on sector interconnection and storage technologies for volatile energies.

Power sources

The long coastline of the Rostock region, virtually a guarantee for wind, and the many hours of sunshine offer very favourable geographical site conditions that create optimal conditions for the generation of renewable energy. The region's potential as a location for green power sources was also recognised in the selection of the region as the site for the National Offshore Test Field, which is to be built off the coast of Rostock-Warnemünde. 

Production

By 2035, green hydrogen is to be produced on a gigawatt scale at three sites in the Rostock region. Regionally generated renewable energies can flow into the planned large-scale electrolysers in a decentralised manner in diverse projects of the regional value chain as well as in supraregional cooperations, and in terms of sector coupling, the surplus heat can be used for the district heating network of the Hanseatic City of Rostock.

Projects

Infrastructure

The development of a distribution infrastructure for hydrogen in the Rostock region is made clear by the national preselection of four major projects for the development of a European hydrogen network. In the future, this network has to develop into a nationwide network and also be able to take over storage functions, e.g. through hydrogen storage power plants. In addition, the filling station infrastructure in the region is to be successively expanded.

Projects

Usage

The use of hydrogen and/or its derivatives offers a broad field of application in the areas of mobility, industry and supply and is reflected in the diverse projects in the region. A high nationwide offtake potential can also be expected due to the planned repurposing of the existing gas pipeline.

Projects

Research & Development

The energy-related academic and research institutions of the Rostock region work together with regional actors on the (further) economic development of the hydrogen region. This is reflected, for example, in the establishment of the Hydrogen Research Factory MV and the research and development activities of the Campfire Alliance.

Projects

Power sources

The long coastline of the Rostock region, virtually a guarantee for wind, and the many hours of sunshine offer very favourable geographical site conditions that create optimal conditions for the generation of renewable energy. The region's potential as a location for green power sources was also recognised in the selection of the region as the site for the National Offshore Test Field, which is to be built off the coast of Rostock-Warnemünde. 

Production

By 2035, green hydrogen is to be produced on a gigawatt scale at three sites in the Rostock region. Regionally generated renewable energies can flow into the planned large-scale electrolysers in a decentralised manner in diverse projects of the regional value chain as well as in supraregional cooperations, and in terms of sector coupling, the surplus heat can be used for the district heating network of the Hanseatic City of Rostock.

Projects

Infrastructure

The development of a distribution infrastructure for hydrogen in the Rostock region is made clear by the national preselection of four major projects for the development of a European hydrogen network. In the future, this network has to develop into a nationwide network and also be able to take over storage functions, e.g. through hydrogen storage power plants. In addition, the filling station infrastructure in the region is to be successively expanded.

Projects

Usage

The use of hydrogen and/or its derivatives offers a broad field of application in the areas of mobility, industry and supply and is reflected in the diverse projects in the region. A high nationwide offtake potential can also be expected due to the planned repurposing of the existing gas pipeline.

Projects

Research & Development

The energy-related academic and research institutions of the Rostock region work together with regional actors on the (further) economic development of the hydrogen region. This is reflected, for example, in the establishment of the Hydrogen Research Factory MV and the research and development activities of the Campfire Alliance.

Projects

News

Second Rostock Hydrogen Conference

On April 27th the second Rostock Hydrogen Conference took place with the focus on the use of hydrogen in the field of mobility.


 

ROSTOCK
Hydrogen Initiative

OUR VISION - IN 2035, THE ROSTOCK REGION WILL BE CLIMATE-NEUTRAL AND A CENTRE FOR GREEN HYDROGEN.

The Rostock Hydrogen Initiative is a regional network whose goal is to establish the Rostock region as an innovative and competitive hydrogen region along the entire value chain. The stakeholders from business, politics, research and society develop innovative approaches and initiate and support projects for a holistic sustainable transformation with the goal of climate neutrality by 2035. 

Supporter

»Green hydrogen is one of the important future technologies of the energy transition. The Rostocker Hydrogen Initiative is very actively engaged with its partners in initiating and implementing new projects for the region.«

»The technological development of hydrogen-based solutions for modern industries will only succeed if we work together. We need new impulses for the district and the Hanseatic city of Rostock so that we can continue to grow powerfully out of ourselves. Above all, to inspire people to work and live in the Rostock region.«

»With our strategy to develop the Rostock seaport into an energy port, we recognise the potential of hydrogen technologies. It is all the more important to bundle these into innovative clusters with the help of the know-how of our specialists and to let them become a driving force for our economy and science. This is how we shape the future.«

»The future topic of hydrogen offers our region a great opportunity to take on a central role in the energy transition and to create more added value in the Rostock region.«

»Together with industry and research partners, we want to establish MV as a hydrogen location. Companies need applicable solutions for the use of the technologies.«

»Hydrogen is a key element for the energy transition. We are convinced that due to optimal conditions in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, the region and the Rostock overseas port can become an industrial centre and hub for green hydrogen by 2030.«

»The CAMPFIRE Alliance of the North-East Region opens innovative pathways for ammonia technologies for regional companies and partnerships with leading companies in Europe.«

»IWEN stands for practice-oriented research and project management. The goal is to shape the energy supply of tomorrow. Hydrogen is an important key to this. This can be seen very practically in the energy port strategy we are coordinating. Here we help to show economic perspectives through accompanying research and technology transfer.«

Reinhard Meyer, Minister of Economic Affairs, Infrastructure, Tourism and Labour.
Sebastian Constien, Minister of Economic Affairs, Infrastructure, Tourism and Labour
Claus Ruhe Madsen, Mayor of the Hanseatic and University City of Rostock
Sven Olsen, "With our transformation to a sustainable energy port, we recognise the potential of hydrogen technologies for business and science in the region
Prof. Wilko Flügge, Director Fraunhofer Institute for Large Structures in Production Engineering IGP
Jens A. Scharner, Managing Director of ROSTOCK PORT GmbH
Dr. Angela Kruth, Head of Materials for Energy Technology, spokesperson and coordinator CAMPFIRE-alliance
Dr. Ralf Tschullik, Institute Director IWEN Institute for Wind Technology, Energy Storage and Grid Integration

Neue Energie.
Von Nebenan.

Neue Energie.
Von Nebenan.

Neue Energie.
Von Nebenan.

Die H2-Wertschöpfungs­kette
Der Region Rostock

Mit einzigartigen Standortvorteilen für die Produktion von Wasserstoff aus regional erzeugten erneuerbaren Energiequellen und vielfältigen Projekten entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette bietet die Regiopolregion Rostock mannigfaltige Chancen für den Auf- und Ausbau einer wettbewerbsfähigen Wasserstoffwirtschaft mit dem Fokus auf der Sektorkopplung und Speichertechnologien der volatilen Energien.

Stromquellen

Die lange Küstenlinie der Regiopolregion Rostock, quasi ein Garant für Wind, und die vielen Sonnenstunden bieten sehr günstige geographische Standortbedingungen, die optimale Voraussetzungen für die Erzeugung von regenerativen Energien schaffen. Das Potential der Region als Standort für grüne Stromquellen wurde auch bei der Auswahl der Region als Standort für des Nationale Offshore-Testfeld erkannt, das vor der Küste von Rostock-Warnemünde entstehen soll.

Produktion

Bis 2035 soll an drei Standorten in der Regiopolregion Rostock grüner Wasserstoff im Gigawatt-Maßstab produziert werden. Regional erzeugte regenerative Energien können in den geplanten Großelektrolyseuren dezentral in vielfältige Projekte der regionalen Wertschöpfungskette sowie in überregionale Kooperationen einfließen und im Sinne der Sektorkopplung kann die überschüssige Wärme für das Fernwärmenetz der Hansestadt Rostock genutzt werden.

Zu den Projekten

Infrastruktur

Der Aufbau einer Verteilinfrastruktur von Wasserstoff wird in der Regiopolregion Rostock u.a. durch die nationale Vorauswahl von vier Großprojekten für den Aufbau eines europäischen Wasserstoffnetzes deutlich. Dieses muss sich zukünftig zu einem flächendeckenden Netz entwickeln, und zusätzlich auch Speicherfunktionen übernehmen, wie z.B. durch Wasserstoffspeicherkraftwerke. Außerdem soll die Tankstelleninfrastruktur in der Region sukzessive erweitert werden.

Zu den Projekten

Nutzung

Die Nutzung von Wasserstoff bzw. seiner Derivate bietet ein breites Anwendungsfeld in den Bereichen Mobilität, Industrie und Versorgung und spiegelt sich in den vielfältigen Projekten der Region wieder. Ein hohes überregionales Abnahmepotenzial ist durch die geplante Umwidmung der bestehenden Gas-Pipeline ebenfalls zu erwarten.

Zu den Projekten

Forschung und Entwicklung

Die energiebezogenen Bildungs- und Forschungseinrichtungen der Regiopolregion Rostock arbeiten praxisnah zusammen mit regionalen Akteuren an der wirtschaftlichen (Weiter-)Entwicklung der Wasserstoffregion. Dies spiegelt sich zum Beispiel in der Errichtung der Forschungsfabrik Wasserstoff MV sowie den Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten des Campfire-Bündnisses wieder.

Zu den Projekten

Stromquellen

Die lange Küstenlinie der Regiopolregion Rostock, quasi ein Garant für Wind, und die vielen Sonnenstunden bieten sehr günstige geographische Standortbedingungen, die optimale Voraussetzungen für die Erzeugung von regenerativen Energien schaffen. Das Potential der Region als Standort für grüne Stromquellen wurde auch bei der Auswahl der Region als Standort für des Nationale Offshore-Testfeld erkannt, das vor der Küste von Rostock-Warnemünde entstehen soll.

Produktion

Bis 2035 soll an drei Standorten in der Regiopolregion Rostock grüner Wasserstoff im Gigawatt-Maßstab produziert werden. Regional erzeugte regenerative Energien können in den geplanten Großelektrolyseuren dezentral in vielfältige Projekte der regionalen Wertschöpfungskette sowie in überregionale Kooperationen einfließen und im Sinne der Sektorkopplung kann die überschüssige Wärme für das Fernwärmenetz der Hansestadt Rostock genutzt werden.

Zu den Projekten

Infrastruktur

Der Aufbau einer Verteilinfrastruktur von Wasserstoff wird in der Regiopolregion Rostock u.a. durch die nationale Vorauswahl von vier Großprojekten für den Aufbau eines europäischen Wasserstoffnetzes deutlich. Dieses muss sich zukünftig zu einem flächendeckenden Netz entwickeln, und zusätzlich auch Speicherfunktionen übernehmen, wie z.B. durch Wasserstoffspeicherkraftwerke. Außerdem soll die Tankstelleninfrastruktur in der Region sukzessive erweitert werden.

Zu den Projekten

Nutzung

Die Nutzung von Wasserstoff bzw. seiner Derivate bietet ein breites Anwendungsfeld in den Bereichen Mobilität, Industrie und Versorgung und spiegelt sich in den vielfältigen Projekten der Region wieder. Ein hohes überregionales Abnahmepotenzial ist durch die geplante Umwidmung der bestehenden Gas-Pipeline ebenfalls zu erwarten.

Zu den Projekten

Forschung und Entwicklung

Die energiebezogenen Bildungs- und Forschungseinrichtungen der Regiopolregion Rostock arbeiten praxisnah zusammen mit regionalen Akteuren an der wirtschaftlichen (Weiter-)Entwicklung der Wasserstoffregion. Dies spiegelt sich zum Beispiel in der Errichtung der Forschungsfabrik Wasserstoff MV sowie den Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten des Campfire-Bündnisses wieder.

Zu den Projekten

Aktuelles

2. Rostocker Wasserstoffkonferenz

Am 27. April fand die zweite Wasserstoffkonferenz der Region Rostock statt.

Unter dem Link youtu.be/GVemI63YoK8 finden Sie das Tagungsprogramm und können die Veranstaltung nochmal ansehen.


Rostocker
Wasserstoff­initiative

UNSERE VISION – IN 2035 IST DIE REGION ROSTOCK KLIMANEUTRAL UND ZENTRUM FÜR GRÜNEN WASSERSTOFF.

Die Rostocker Wasserstoffinitiative ist ein regionales Netzwerk, deren Ziel es ist, die Regiopolregion Rostock als innovative und wettbewerbsfähige Wasserstoffregion entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette zu etablieren. Die Akteure aus Wirtschaft, Politik, Forschung und Gesellschaft entwickeln innovative Ansätze und initiieren und unterstützen Projekte für eine ganzheitliche, nachhaltige Transformation mit dem Ziel der Klimaneutralität bis 2035.

Unterstützer

»Grüner Wasserstoff ist eine der bedeutenden Zukunftstechnologien der Energiewende. Die Rostocker Wasserstoffinitiative engagiert sich mit ihren Partnern sehr aktiv, neue Projekte für die Region zu initiieren und umzusetzen.«

»Die technologische Entwicklung wasserstoffbasierter Lösungen für moderne Industrien wird nur gelingen, wenn wir uns zusammenschließen. Wir brauchen neue Impulse für den Landkreis und die Hansestadt Rostock, damit wir weiter kraftvoll aus uns selbst heraus wachsen können. Vor allem auch deshalb, um Menschen für Arbeit und Leben in der Region Rostock zu begeistern.«

»Mit unserer Strategie den Rostocker Seehafen zu einem Energiehafen zu entwickeln erkennen wir das Potential der Wasserstofftechnologien. Umso wichtiger ist es, diese mit Hilfe des Know-How unserer Fachkräfte zu innovativen Clustern zu bündeln und zu einem Antriebsmotor für unsere Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft werden zu lassen. So gestalten wir Zukunft.«

»Das Zukunftsthema Wasserstoff bietet für unsere Region die große Chance, eine zentrale Rolle in der Energiewende zu übernehmen und mehr Wertschöpfung in der Regiopolregion Rostock zu schaffen.«

»Wir wollen gemeinsam mit Industrie- und Forschungspartnern MV als H2-Standort etablieren. Unternehmen brauchen anwendbare Lösungen für die Nutzung der Technologien.«

»Wasserstoff ist ein Schlüsselelement für die Energiewende. Wir sind überzeugt, dass aufgrund von optimalen Voraussetzungen in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, die Region und der Überseehafen Rostock bis zum Jahr 2030 ein industrielles Zentrum und Drehkreuz für grünen Wasserstoff werden kann.«

»Das CAMPFIRE Bündnis der Region Nord-Ost eröffnet innovative Pfade für Ammoniak-Technologien für regionale Unternehmen und Partnerschaften mit führenden Unternehmen in Europa.«

»Das IWEN steht für praxisnahe Forschung und Projektmanagement. Ziel ist es, die Energieversorgung von morgen zu gestalten. Wasserstoff ist dafür ein wichtiger Schlüssel. Ganz praktisch zeigt sich das in der von uns koordinierten Energiehafenstrategie. Hier helfen wir durch Begleitforschung und Technologietransfer wirtschaftliche Perspektiven aufzuzeigen.«

Reinhard Meyer, Minister für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Tourismus und Arbeit
Sebastian Constien, Landrat Landkreis Rostock
Claus Ruhe Madsen, Oberbürgermeister Hanse- und Universitätsstadt Rostock
Sven Olsen, IHK Geschäftsbereich Innovation, Umwelt, Verkehr, Maritime Wirtschaft
Prof. Wilko Flügge, Leitung Fraunhofer-Institut für Großstrukturen in der Produktionstechnik kurz Fraunhofer IGP
Jens A. Scharner, Geschäftsführer der ROSTOCK PORT GmbH
Dr. Angela Kruth, Leiterin Materialien für die Energietechnik, Sprecherin und Koordinatorin CAMPFIRE
Dr. Ralf Tschullik, Institutsleiter IWEN-Institut für Windtechnik, Energiespeicherung und Netzintegration